Book review: the strain book 1

image

If you haven’t heard of the strain, well now you have. If you like vampire stories then this one is one you need to read. I was never one to be into these kind of books but after watching the first season of the strain on FX (the series is based off the book), I had to read the book because the book is always more interesting and more detailed.

The main character is dr. Ephraim goodweather and basically has a major role and  you will read a lot of his personal life in the midst of the craziness of the vampires.  He’s smart and yet you can tell he’s caring. I really enjoyed his character the most.

I also enjoyed the elderly man, whom is a teacher of sorts to the crew they end up creating. Setrakian is gutsy and basically wants them all to get them to do what needs to be done. I don’t want to go too much in details without ruining the story line and plot.

Out of five stars I give it 4.5. Reason being that it had a few dull moments but it’s expected in every book and then it picks up and takes you for a whirl wind ride that I was excited about and couldn’t put the book down. I’m glad that it has several parts because the way it ended left me yearning for more.

Do I recommend this book? My answer is clear, yes! Like I had said before, I was never into vampire books or horror type books but this one was great to get me into them. Lets be serious, any book based in New York City always catches my attention being that I am from NYC. I have no regrets in starting this series and hope I still feel the same after the second and the third. Hopefully, I won’t be disappointed when I read the rest of the trilogy but this book didn’t disappoint me at all so I am determined to start the second part as soon as possible.

That’s all for my review, let me know if you end up reading it and if you agree with my keen interest with these two characters. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

God bless, Vanessa.

Leave a Reply

